My Brother, My Brother and Me 👨‍👨‍👦 TV Show Review


Written by Tia

What sweet nerds. Podcast kings and brothers Justin, Travis, and Griffin McElroy have, at long last, come out with a 6-episode TV show to accompany their 300-episode podcast, My Brother, My Brother and Me. And what a triumph it is.

No Improvement Podcast 👯 Episode 1

No Improvement is a comedy podcast that explores the vast, untapped potential of TV shows, books, films, and more. Quill & Slate blog runners Thelonia and Tia review—and then reimagine—the stories you know and love until you can barely recognize them anymore. Hopefully in a good way. And if not, well, we hope you are still entertained.

In the first episode of No Improvement, the new podcast by Quill & Slate blog runners Tia and Thelonia, we take a look at the first episode of the Santa Clarita Diet: what we liked and didn't, how we would improve it, and what we hope will happen in the next few episodes.

Subscribe on iTunes!

Lovesick 💑 TV Show Review


Written by Tia

Although the pitched concept is very interesting on its own, Lovesick goes in a different direction than you might expect. The idea is as follows: A young man discovers he has an STD, and must contact all of his lovers from the past few years to inform them so they can get checked themselves. Then, along with him, you are both vaulted into the flashback of how he and x, y, or z woman ended up having sex/a relationship/etc., and watch him confront her in present day. But what I found surprising was the parallel story of the protagonist's "will they, won't they, why can't they" relationship with his close friend.

I Am the Pretty Thing That Lives in the House 💀 Movie Review

Written by Thelonia

The Pretty Thing that Lives in the House is Ruth Wilson (armed with a saccharine American accent), who plays Lily Saylor, a nurse hired to take care of an aged writer living in a large empty house all by herself. Lily will soon discover the house’s dark secrets lurking just inside the walls.

A Series of Unfortunate Events 😧 TV Show Review

Written by Thelonia

The books in A Series of Unfortunate Events were published from 1999 to 2006, from when I was 4 to when I was 13. I remember devouring them as they came out, hoping against hope that things would go well for the Baudelaires, perhaps, one day.

That day is not today.